Annual SHENANDOAH Prizes

Shenandoah is pleased to announce the winners of its annual prizes for Volume 61 (2011-2012).  All pieces published during the year were considered for the prizes in their given genre.

This year’s recipient of the Shenandoah Prize for fiction is John Matthew Fox for his story “To Will One Thing,” which appears in Volume 61, No. 1.  Fox, who holds a graduate degree in creative writing from the University of Southern California, has also received the Third Coast Fiction Contest and has published in Los Angeles Review, Tampa Review and The Pedestal.  Sonja Copenbarger received Honorable Mention for her story “Medora.”

The James Boatwright III Prize for Poetry is awarded to David Roderick for his poem “Green Fields” published in Volume 61, Issue 1.  Roderick’s first book, Blue Colonial, won the Honickman Prize and was additionally published by The American Poetry Review.  Roderick currently teaches in the M.F.A. Creative Writing Program at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.  Honorable Mention for this prize goes to Donald Platt for his poem “Chartres in the Dark.”

The Carter Prize for the Essay is awarded to John Nelson for his essay “Brolga the Dancing Crane Girl” that appears in Volume 61, Issue 2.  Nelson is the author of Cultivating Judgment and has both fiction and essays published in The Gettysburg Review, The Massachusetts Review, The Snowy Egret and Birding.  Anna Vodicka and her essay “On Modesty” received Honorable Mention for this prize.

Congratulations to these writers and the many others whose fine work made the judging a challenge.

recent-meR. T. Smith has edited Shenandoah since 1995 and serves as Writer-in-Residence at Washington & Lee. His forthcoming books are Doves in Flight: 13 Fictions and Summoning Shades: New Poems, both due in 2017.